Texturing Theia

I first set out by laying the UVs. I did this like the ogre from digital tutors by using a planar map and then cutting the seams myself. Some of the squares are a little stretched but I wanted as little seams as possible. I cut the ears off separately as well as the head and the body. I split the tail to let the body UV shell unfold better.

I brought the uv snapshot of these UVs into photoshop and drew onto them the design we wanted. We wanted little speckled bumps and curling designs to make her softer than the sharp environment. I went on to bump map the little speckles on theia so they stood out more…like little pieces of the moon.

Initial colours within maya used:

Developing these:

Warm/cool lighting:

The team suggested that I added pupils to try and make our character cuter but they turned out to be scarier and I haven’t had a chance to make them nicer since its been animated:

Leave a comment