Modelling the Skyguard

Hard surface modelling is a lot harder to create than I originally though. I’ve been more recently used to doing organic models like the creature, Theia, in the previous assignment for creative strategies.

I started by building a rectangular structure with similar measurements as the huge oil tanker. I decided to build half of my model first and mirror it down as an instance for efficiency.

To fit a lot of the extra geometry, I duplicated faces from the original rectangular structure I created and built off of the new pieces. The front had a really nice design from Steve Burg.

wipp_001.jpg

WIP_002.jpg

You can see the random parts I duplicated faces from to add more detail like in my drawings. I duplicated the inside to eventually create a bridge to fit.

wipp_002.jpg

More pieces modelled. These are mostly bits I created to form similar parts to my drawing. I extruded and brought in pieces. Hard surface modelling requires a lot of tight edgelooping! It’s starting to look like a computer tower.

wipp_003.jpg

After modelling the parts that I would need to uv unwrap before duplicating over as instances, I modelled the bridges for the bottom.

wipp_004.jpg

I also modelled some wires to add to detail and brought the bridge in.

wipp_006.jpg

 

Leave a comment