Making the Orb

I modelled two simple half spheres in maya and extruded them inwards. I then used the GoZ tool to bring them in as a subtool into maya.

I used the masking and deformation settings to inflate the designs inwards.

orb_001.gif

orb_002.gif

I created some little texture marks on the insets and used the damian standard brush to create more lines around these. I also used some vein like alpha channels to add more texture. I used the rotational symmetry tool to create more designs with aplha channels and with the damian standard brush. It was really fun and quick.

orb_003.gif

I knew that creating the orb in zbrush would be good. I tried to stick with the deformation options to change the shape as its a lot easier to control than the regular options in the workspace. I also thought it was very good to learn how to do some hard surface modelling using the flatten brush and cutting pieces away.

orb_004.gif

Another part of the design on the inside was created in maya and brought back into zbrush as a subtool using the GoZ option. It’s so handy.

gem_001.jpg

I reduced the topology of the mesh by creating a duplicate and projecting the high quality mesh onto the lower one. I lost some detail but this should be good for bringing my creature into maya.

gem_002.jpg

Leave a comment